iRecover Staff

Our talented and dedicated staff change the lives of individuals and families every single day.

Jim Gray, Founder & CEO 

iRecover Jim Gray

Jim Gray is the founder and owner of iRecover Addiction Treatment Centres.

Jim ( who has nearly 30 years of sobriety) decided to start a treatment centre to get drunk drivers off the road after his youngest son was nearly killed by an impaired driver.  After 14 years, iRecover has now grown to include rehab treatment facilities in Alberta and British Columbia and has changed the lives of thousands of families.

Dr. Hilgard Goosen, MB ChB, LMCC, MCFP

Dr. Hilgard Goosen (MB ChB, LMCC, MCFP) is the physician lead for iRecover. He has 25 years of experience in clinical practice and is currently a member of both the American and Canadian Society of Addiction Medicine.

Dr. Goosen obtained his medical degree in South Africa in 1996, he performed an initial 18-month residency in Obstetrics before relocating to Family Practice. He immigrated to Canada 15 years ago and has been in active practice in Lacombe and Ponoka Alberta as a family physician with Enhanced Surgical Skills. Dr. Goosen has been appointed as an Assistant Clinical Professor in the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Alberta.

Dr. Goosen has a keen interest in addiction medicine, especially the latest research developments and evidence-based best practices for addiction. He regularly visits the facility and is on call 24/7 for all medical needs of our participants. Furthermore, he oversees all policies, guidelines, training and supervision of medical and non-medical staff at iRecover.

Dr. Avininder Aulakh, MD, FRCPC, DABAM

Dr. Avininder Aulakh, MD, FRCPC, DABAM

Dr. Avininder Aulakh, MD, FRCPC, DABAM is duly qualified psychiatrist and addiction specialist.

Dr Aulakh is fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada as a Psychiatrist and Diplomate of the American Board of Addiction Medicine. Dr Aulakh has served as Section Chief of Addictions for Alberta Health Services North Zone till Sept 2019. Dr Aulakh is the Medical director of Savera Medical Centre clinic that has focus on addictions in South Asian community. In addition he has served as the Medical Lead for various addiction related programs in Edmonton. Dr Aulakh is also the President and Founder of non-profit organsiation NASHAA raising awareness about addictions. Dr Aulakh is a Clinical Lecturer in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Alberta and teach residents and medical students in areas of addiction psychiatry.

Dr. John Charlton RRC

Dr. John Charlton RCC (BCACC # 9168) is a registered clinical counselor, habit change aficionado, facilitator, and coach. John loves helping others achieve their goals one bite-size step at a time. He completed earned degrees from Trent University, Queen’s University, University of Toronto: Yorkville University, and Providence Sem.

Dr. Charlton’s doctoral work developed a restorative justice model, toward addictions recovery, predicated upon healing, not punishment. Specifically, Dr. Charlton examined the need for an individual to believe in something greater than themselves, to which they are accountable, in order to cognitively restructure the tendency to egotistically twist logic toward self-justification.

Management Team

Jim Gray


Mitchell Gray

Executive Director iRecover Alberta

Sheri Stein

Office Administrator

Davis Gray

IT Manager

Danica Goetz

B.H.S.c., I.C.A.D.C

Program Coordinator

Gabrielle Joy A.A.C

Assistant Director iRecover Okanagan

Shannon Ballas


Executive Director iRecover Okanagan

Jason Nesbitt

Intake Coordinator

Medical Team

Dr. Hilgard Goosen


Physician Lead

Dr. Avininder Aulakh


Psychiatric lead

Janelle Huber

Team Lead


Niki Myers


Viv Penner


Julie Babin


Jordan Benoit


Clinical Team

Ross Artur

Program Facilitator

Rhea Olson

Program Facilitator

Kyle Olson

Program Facilitator

Renee Yeboah

B.A. , Facilitator

Program Facilitator

Shelbey Merrill


Program Facilitator

Chelsea Hudkins

Program Facilitator

Support Team

Steve Bokenfohr

Facility Maintenance

Fumi Hisamura


Robert Leggo


Sarette Smit

Night Staff

Sarah Smith

Night Staff

Laurene Hildebrandt

Night Staff

Melanie Derocher

Night Staff

Tina McAdam

Night Staff

Tina Schultz

Night Staff